Urbanisation of karnataka

Urbanisation of karnataka Karnataka stood 10th in the level of urbanisation in 1981 census and has moved to 11th rank in 1991 census among the States and Union Territories in India. The rate of urbanisation is faster in Karnataka when compared to other states of India. This trend has been growing from 1901 till 1991. … Read more

Density of Population of Karnataka

Density of Population of Karnataka The number of persons for every square kilometre area is called the density of population. The density of population in the state was 235 in 1991 as against 194 in 1981 which is less than that of the country (267 in 1991 as against 230 in 1981). Among 35 states … Read more

Sex Ratio of karnataka

Sex Ratio of karnataka The sex ratio is defined as the number of females for every 1000 males in a given area. The sex ratio of population in 2001 was 965. The rural sex ratio was 977 and that of the urban ratio was 942, as compared to the figures to that of 1991 (Rural … Read more

Demography of Karnataka

Demography of Karnataka According to 1991 census, Karnataka with an area of 1,91,791 sq. km. has a population of 44,977,201 with 22,951,917 males and 22,025,284 females. Karnataka State ranks 9th among the 28 States and 7 Union Territories in the Indian Union both in respect of area and population as per 2001 census. Karnataka’s population … Read more

Chief Ministers of Karnataka

Sl. No. Name Party Period 1 Chengalaraya Reddy Congress October 25, 1947 – March 30, 1952 2 Kengal Hanumanthaiah Congress March 30, 1952 – August 19, 1956 3 Kadidal Manjappa Congress August 19, 1956 – October 31, 1956 4 S. Nijalingappa Congress November 1, 1956 – April 10, 1957 5 S. Nijalingappa Congress April 10, … Read more

Awards in Kannada Literature

Gnanapitha Award Winners 1. K.V. Puttappa (1967), 2. D.R.Bendre (1973), K. Shivaram Karanth (1977), 4. Masti Venkatesh lyengar (1983). 5. V.K.Gokak (1990), 6. U.R. Ananthamurthy (1994). 7. Girish Karnad (1998) Karnataka Ratna Award Winners K.V. Puttappa and Dr. Rajkumar (1992); S. NIjalingappa (1999), C.N.R. Rao (2000). Central Sahitya Academy Award Winners 1. K.V. Puttappa (1955), … Read more

Kannada Literature

Kannada literature has a history dating back to at least 1500 years. This apart, the folk literature which began earlier, still runs parallel to the written form. Seygotta Sivarama’s ‘Gajashtaka’ is cited as an example of early folk literature. The oldest available work in Kannada is however, a book on poetics, called ‘Kavirajamarga’. Some controversy … Read more