Indian States


Karnataka is a state in southwest India with Arabian Sea coastlines. The capital, Bengaluru, is a high-tech hub known for its shopping.


Maharashtra, a state spanning west-central India, is best known for its fast-paced capital, Mumbai (formerly Bombay).


Kerala, a state on India's tropical Malabar Coast, has nearly 600km of Arabian Sea shoreline. It's known for its palm-lined beaches.


Gujarat, India's westernmost state, has varied terrain and numerous sacred sites. In its urban center of Ahmedabad is the Calico Museum of Textiles.

Madhya Pradesh

Madhya Pradesh, a large state in central India, retains landmarks from eras throughout Indian history.


Tamil Nadu, a South Indian state, is famed for its Dravidian-style Hindu temples.

Andra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh is a state bordering India’s southeastern coast. Major cultural landmarks include Tirumala Venkateswara Temple.

Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh is one of the twenty-nine states of India. Located in northeast India


Assam is a state in northeastern India known for its wildlife and tea plantations. In the west, Guwahati, Assam’s largest city.


Bihar is a state in East India, bordering Nepal. In the state capital Patna, Mahavir Mandir temple is revered by Hindus.


Chhattisgarh is a heavily forested state in central India known for its temples and waterfalls.


Goa is a state in western India with coastlines stretching along the Arabian Sea. Goa is also known for its beaches.


Haryana is a North Indian state surrounding New Delhi on 3 sides. The Yamuna River runs along its eastern border with Uttar Pradesh.

Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh is a northern Indian state in the Himalayas. The region is also well known for its trekking, climbing and skiing areas.

Jammu and Kashmir

Jammu and Kashmir is a state in northern India, often denoted by the acronym J&K.


Jharkhand is a state in eastern India. The state capital of Ranchi is a gateway to the park.


Manipur is a state in northeastern India, with the city of Imphal as its capital. It is bounded by Nagaland to the north.


Meghalaya is a state in northeast India. The name means "the abode of clouds" in Sanskrit. The state is the wettest region of India.


Mizoram is one of the states of Northeast India, with Aizawl as its capital city.


Nagaland is a mountainous state in northeast India, bordering Myanmar. It's home to diverse indigenous tribes.


Odisha (formerly Orissa), an eastern Indian state on the Bay of Bengal, is known for its tribal cultures and its many ancient Hindu temples.


Punjab, a state bordering Pakistan, is the heart of India’s Sikh community.


Rajasthan is a northern Indian state bordering Pakistan. Its palaces and forts are reminders of the many kingdoms.


Sikkim is a state in northeast India, bordered by Bhutan, Tibet and Nepal.

Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu, a South Indian state, is famed for its Dravidian-style Hindu temples.


Tripura is a hilly state in northeast India, bordered on 3 sides by Bangladesh, and home to a diverse mix of tribal cultures and religious groups.


Uttarakhand, a state in northern India crossed by the Himalayas, is known for its Hindu pilgrimage sites.

Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh is a state in northern India. Its city of Agra is home to the iconic Taj Mahal monument.

West Bengal

West Bengal is a state in eastern India, between the Himalayas and the Bay of Bengal.

Template Styles Style switcher